​•••• Chai Pe Charcha ••••


So, this morning, as the tea stall I visit every morning was closed, I decided to have my breakfast at this place called Cafe V.J.T.I near my hostel, where I came across these two men in the picture who I presume to be in their 70s. These two lovely men made my morning a complete treat that I’m not going to forget for years now. As I entered this place, I heard two old men talking really loud. At first I did not pay attention, for I thought they must be talking about some random stuff. And secondly, it’s a bad thing to hear someone else’s conversation. I silently walked past their table and occupied the  table next to them (Because that was the only vacant table at that moment). I ordered my tea and started fidgeting with my cellphone and just then I heard one of those two old men saying, “Pata nahi hum insaan mazhab ko lekar ye ladai kab band karege” i.e. (I don’t know when are we human beings going to stop fighting over religion). It was Mr. Abdullah (on the right). It totally took me by surprise and I couldn’t help but put my ear into their conversation. Following which Mr. Rasik (on the left) replied, “Haan. Aaj bhaisahab hum hindu hai aur aap musalman ho. Agle janam me shayad aap hindu ho aur hum musalman. Kisko pata hai? Hamare Ram aur aapke Allah me sirf naam matra ka fark hai.” i.e. (Yes brother. Today, I am a Hindu and you’re a Muslim. In the coming life it may happen that you’ll be a Hindu and I, a Muslim. Who knows? Ram and Allah are two different names for the same god we both preach). And this conversation went for a good long while where they discussed many more beautiful things which I am glad I could witness.
Listening to this, totally took me by a storm of happiness. Of how people out there still want peace, instead of territories and power. Maybe there was nothing really extra ordinary about this conversation, but it makes me happy to see people talking the language of love and peace more often than ever.

Please educate your children, friends, colleagues and everyone around you to not hate  someone if they’re from some other religion. They’re equally as human as you are. Don’t Judge. Spread Love. Say yes to equality. ❤

Leave a comment